Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Romer vs Faro

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 12
      • Software Version:
      • 2011MR1
      • Machine Type:
      • BNS Global
      • Location:
      • CT
      • Job Function:
      • CMM Programmer
    Schrocknroll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    187

    Default Romer vs Faro

    Any thoughts as to the benifits of Romer over Faro? My shop is thinking of getting a portable CMM and I'd like to get some imput as to which you think is better. Also do you have any suggestions in gereral for what to be careful about with portable CMMs?


    2011MR1

    Jeff

  2. #2
    Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 10
      • Software Version:
      • 3.7
      • Machine Type:
      • B&S, Faro, Sheffield,
      • Location:
      • Lexington, KY
      • Job Function:
      • Quality Engineer / Metrology Tech.
    russ.griffith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    43

    Default

    The Faro Arm is pretty good, We got one about 2 years ago. My biggest fault with the Cam 2 software is that it doesn't have feature recognition. Other than that it is pretty user friendly. We have only had one issue with ours, the encoder went out on one of the axis', they turnaround time for repair was about 2 weeks. There are 2 other companies in this area that we do work for and both of them have had trouble with encoders going bad. As for the Romer, I played around with an old one at a customers place once but to compare it to the newer model Faro wouldn't be comparing apples to apples.
    If the need arose for another portable I would definetly look at Faro again, but wouldn't limit myself to that choice.
    I might not love my job, but I love the ones it feeds!

  3. #3

    Default

    We have/been using a Faro arm (Silver)with PcDmis and have found it very useful out on the shop floor for jigs, dies etc.Was purchased about 4 years ago and doesn't have the Infinite Rotation that the Romer has now.

    Coot

  4. #4
    Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • Since 1998
      • Software Version:
      • Latest and greatest
      • Machine Type:
      • Brown and Sharpe
      • Location:
      • Ontario
      • Job Function:
      • Technical Support
    Stuart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Version 4.0 of PC-DMIS has made a nice interface and new algorithms for use with manual arms. Been training and supporting on the Romer for a while, a very nice product. Wireless is awesome. Also remember, you can by Romer and PC-DMIS from the same company, and get equally supported by both.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 19+
      • Software Version:
      • 3.7 and 4.0 Beta Tester
      • Machine Type:
      • B & S Excel 152010 UHA
      • Location:
      • Danville,Il
      • Job Function:
      • CMM System Administrator

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Danville,Il
    Posts
    7

    Thumbs up

    we recently bought a faro gage arm. as far as using it if it used in the way it was designed for it works great. if you are normally used to running PcDmis i would advise against the Faro software it is too limiting and the tech support we get fro Hexagon is 10 times better than at Faro. Just one programmers observation. i would also advise doing a correlation study between the arm and your normal cmm and see the difference it would have on using it in the manufacturing area. hope this helps Scott Bean

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 12
      • Software Version:
      • 2011MR1
      • Machine Type:
      • BNS Global
      • Location:
      • CT
      • Job Function:
      • CMM Programmer
    Schrocknroll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    187

    Default

    Thanks for the replies. We did get the Faro. I haven't even had a chance to touch it yet, we're so busy right now. I would like to do a correlation between the Faro and one of our standard CMMs.


    2011MR1

    Jeff

  7. #7
    Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 1.5 years
      • Software Version:
      • 3.7 MR2
      • Machine Type:
      • Sheff Endeavor, B&S One
      • Location:
      • NY & Michigan

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    NY & Michigan
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Get to play around with it yet? Correlation study? Lemme know what you think about it, they're coming over for a demo in a couple weeks.

    Also Scott mentioned not going with the Faro software? What other software is there, and is one regarded substantially better? Anyone?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 12
      • Software Version:
      • 2011MR1
      • Machine Type:
      • BNS Global
      • Location:
      • CT
      • Job Function:
      • CMM Programmer
    Schrocknroll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    187

    Default

    I didn't get a chance to do the correlation study yet, but the other guy who is learning it checked a 1/2 inch gage ring and found it within a few tenths. I want to check some distances betwen holes or something like that. We are severly under staffed here.

    Coot mentioned that PC-DMIS will work with it.


    2011MR1

    Jeff

  9. #9
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • Since 1987
      • Software Version:
      • v3.5 MR2, v4.2 MR1
      • Machine Type:
      • B&S Global Image (x2)
      • Location:
      • Opelika, AL
      • Job Function:
      • CMM Programmer
    Don Meredith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Opelika, AL
    Posts
    507

    Default

    We are using a FARO arm with Geomagic software (Studio & Qualify). We did a correlation of a scan to the same part run on the CMM - very close, <0.02mm.
    This may not be close enough for your parts, but since we make and measure raw sand castings, this is fine for us.
    v3.5MR2, v4.2MR1
    Global Image 153010 (x2)
    Win XP


    Since 1994

    Never force anything. Get a bigger hammer.
    (Advice from my dad.)

  10. #10
    Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 1.5 years
      • Software Version:
      • 3.7 MR2
      • Machine Type:
      • Sheff Endeavor, B&amp;S One
      • Location:
      • NY &amp; Michigan

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    NY & Michigan
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Ya, with all the issues I already have with PC-DMIS though, I'm not too excited about getting it for a Farogage. Not to mention Hexagon is probably charging an arm and a leg for the software.

Similar Threads

  1. PC-Dmis won't see Faro arm
    By Quality4you2 in forum PC-DMIS Portable
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-22-2011, 09:10 AM
  2. Faro to DCC
    By thecoot in forum PC-DMIS for CMMs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-08-2007, 12:40 PM
  3. Faro Arm and PC-DMIS
    By John Riggins in forum PC-DMIS for CMMs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-27-2007, 08:21 AM
  4. 4.0,4.1 on faro?
    By mhesse in forum PC-DMIS Portable
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-23-2007, 01:19 PM
  5. FARO help?
    By nicoletbn in forum PC-DMIS Portable
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-13-2006, 08:55 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •