Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Vectors

  1. #1
    PC-DMIS demi-Guru
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 11 years 5 w/ PCDMIS 9 w/MM4
      • Software Version:
      • 3.7MR3 & 2012 MR1
      • Machine Type:
      • Global Advantage
      • Location:
      • Columbus Georgia
      • Job Function:
      • Quality Inspector
    AuRules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Columbus Georgia
    Posts
    1,025

    Default Vectors

    Most of the programming I do is from the blueprint, but sometimes I use a catia model. In this latest project they are having me create a alignment using a plane and some bolt holes, easy enough. The problem is that theres a datum target on a 3d curved surfaces. I have the blue print numbers (X,Y,Z) but do not have the vectors. How can I get the vectors and use the blueprint numbers at the same time. The 1st attempt was to create the point, then go and use the mouse to touch on top of the point. But the numbers never match. Can someone please help a brother out.

  2. #2
    PC-DMIS demi-Guru
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 4
      • Software Version:
      • v3.5, 4.3, 4.4
      • Machine Type:
      • Sheffield Endeavor
      • Location:
      • Connecticut
      • Job Function:
      • Engineering Aid/Inspector

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    1,224

    Default

    If you have a model in pc-dmis, create an auto vector point, plug in the XYZ nominals, and hit the little binoculars under the entry fields. This will look for the closest CAD surface and adjust XYZIJK accordingly. It will probably shift your nominal numbers more than acceptable. Reenter them, and hit the binoculars again. Keep doing this till you get only a few tenths of a thou error (maybe 2-4 times) on nominals and you are good to go.

  3. #3
    PC-DMIS demi-Guru
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 11 years 5 w/ PCDMIS 9 w/MM4
      • Software Version:
      • 3.7MR3 & 2012 MR1
      • Machine Type:
      • Global Advantage
      • Location:
      • Columbus Georgia
      • Job Function:
      • Quality Inspector
    AuRules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Columbus Georgia
    Posts
    1,025

    Default

    donka----I think under my XYZ ia a find button

  4. #4
    PC-DMIS Guru
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 25 yrs
      • Software Version:
      • 3.7 MR4 / 4.2 (import only)
      • Machine Type:
      • DEA/GLOBAL
      • Location:
      • Anderson Island, WA
      • Job Function:
      • Lead CMM Programmer/Contract Programmer
    John Riggins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Anderson Island, WA
    Posts
    2,771

    Default

    Find Vector....
    *


    Sometimes the lights all shining on me...
    Other times I can barely see.

    3.7 MR4(step patch) CAD++

  5. #5
    PC-DMIS demi-Guru
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 11 years 5 w/ PCDMIS 9 w/MM4
      • Software Version:
      • 3.7MR3 & 2012 MR1
      • Machine Type:
      • Global Advantage
      • Location:
      • Columbus Georgia
      • Job Function:
      • Quality Inspector
    AuRules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Columbus Georgia
    Posts
    1,025

    Default

    Hit find vector will give you the correct vectors off of the XYZ cordinate that I manually typed in? If so well holy smokes...Thanks

  6. #6
    PC-DMIS demi-Guru
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • Since 1988
      • Software Version:
      • Small Customer CAD++
      • Machine Type:
      • Endeavor 9.12.10
      • Location:
      • N. Hollywood, Ca.
      • Job Function:
      • Stir-up schit
    lambo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    N. Hollywood, Ca.
    Posts
    1,444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AuRules View Post
    Hit find vector will give you the correct vectors off of the XYZ cordinate that I manually typed in? If so well holy smokes...Thanks
    And also:
    SNAP=YES

Similar Threads

  1. vectors
    By Ironhoe in forum PC-DMIS for CMMs
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-07-2008, 06:20 PM
  2. The Joy of Vectors in 4.2
    By Ravenmaniac in forum PC-DMIS for CMMs
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-08-2008, 10:33 AM
  3. Bad Vectors
    By Tested in forum PC-DMIS for CMMs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-20-2007, 07:27 AM
  4. Vectors
    By inspector212 in forum PC-DMIS for CMMs
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-11-2007, 03:41 PM
  5. V4.2 Vectors
    By John Kugler in forum PC-DMIS for CMMs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-31-2007, 11:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •