Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: TP200 not triggering

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 2
      • Software Version:
      • 4.2 MR1
      • Machine Type:
      • Global, Xcel
      • Location:
      • Feasterville PA

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Feasterville PA
    Posts
    255

    Default TP200 not triggering

    After experiencing previous crashes with TP200s and having them RBE, we're having a new problem.

    Usually when you crash a TP200, it remains triggered. One of ours has stopped triggering at all. One of the guys was qualifying a tip on the sphere. It checked A0B0 and A90B90. When it tried to do A90B-90, the probe touched the sphere, but didn't trigger. (No magnets present, and I believe the TP200 is relatively immune to magnet issues anyway) We swapped modules, and still no trigger. (In any direction) Swapped in our spare TP200, and it works.

    We then swapped the suspect TP200 back onto the CMM, and it worked. Tried measuring a part, it worked. Twice. The third time, it pushed the part (no trigger). Tried cleaning threads on the TP200 and looking for obvious debris, but have found nothing.

    Looks like we are resigned to another RBE, unless someone has any hints like "there's a recall for that" or "I fixed it with a paper clip, here's how".

    Anything similar happen to anyone?

    Side note: Has the forum been sluggish this week? Pages are taking a long time to load for me, but only this site. Other forums and webpages load with no issues.

  2. #2
    Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 2
      • Software Version:
      • Version CAD 4.2 MR1
      • Machine Type:
      • Brown and Sharp DCC gage
      • Location:
      • Washington
      • Job Function:
      • Inspector

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    41

    Default

    I had that very same issue once. my probe just stopped after a crash and it was very hit and miss for about two days. it would work and then stop. after about two days it just decided to work for me and i haven't had any issues since. i did nothing to it except not use it for a while. maybe you will get lucky like that.

  3. #3
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 4
      • Software Version:
      • 3.7MR3, 4.1
      • Machine Type:
      • B&S Excel 7.10.7, Sheffiled Endeavor 9.9.9 Sheffield Discovery D-12
      • Job Function:
      • Quality Engineer

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    820

    Default

    ..they can wear out...you'll a Piezo Cyrstal Error..Error Code 0127...if that's no the case make sure the outer body "rim" is not grounding on the edge of the magnetic coupling...also, try switching the polarity on the TP200 interface...the "little" box...then switch it back...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 2
      • Software Version:
      • 4.2 MR1
      • Machine Type:
      • Global, Xcel
      • Location:
      • Feasterville PA

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Feasterville PA
    Posts
    255

    Default

    No errors come up.

    Doesn't look like the rim is grounding. When I move the two together, the probe triggers. I assume thats normal?

    By "switching polarity" do you mean reverse the two cables on the PI200? What will that do? How soon should I "switch it back"?

  5. #5
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 4
      • Software Version:
      • 3.7MR3, 4.1
      • Machine Type:
      • B&S Excel 7.10.7, Sheffiled Endeavor 9.9.9 Sheffield Discovery D-12
      • Job Function:
      • Quality Engineer

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    820

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rsegriggy View Post
    No errors come up.

    Doesn't look like the rim is grounding. When I move the two together, the probe triggers. I assume thats normal?

    By "switching polarity" do you mean reverse the two cables on the PI200? What will that do? How soon should I "switch it back"?
    there should be a little dipswitch with a + / - on the back..it may be on the PH10 controller box...just switch it one way..then back to the original position...don't reverse any cables...it's pretty instantaneous...give it a few econds though..the body shouldn't ever be touching the magnetic coupling...yes it will trigger and it is normal...it's just wrong...

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 2
      • Software Version:
      • 4.2 MR1
      • Machine Type:
      • Global, Xcel
      • Location:
      • Feasterville PA

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Feasterville PA
    Posts
    255

    Default

    I'll give it a try today when I get to the lab. When I switch polarity, exactly what polarity am I switching? (I assume something in the probe body itself, perhas going from a negative ground to a positive?) Should I move the probe at all while the switch is flipped?

  7. #7
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 4
      • Software Version:
      • 3.7MR3, 4.1
      • Machine Type:
      • B&S Excel 7.10.7, Sheffiled Endeavor 9.9.9 Sheffield Discovery D-12
      • Job Function:
      • Quality Engineer

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    820

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rsegriggy View Post
    I'll give it a try today when I get to the lab. When I switch polarity, exactly what polarity am I switching? (I assume something in the probe body itself, perhas going from a negative ground to a positive?) Should I move the probe at all while the switch is flipped?
    ...not sure exactly what is changed in terms of the electronics..I think it has something to do with the current...I don't know really....

    ...i don't think it will matter if you move it...

Similar Threads

  1. Triggering stops in middle of program
    By Dobbie in forum PC-DMIS for CMMs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-14-2009, 11:21 AM
  2. Probe triggering during travel
    By rerun_lives in forum PC-DMIS for CMMs
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-09-2009, 04:18 PM
  3. TP200 Weakness
    By HMag83 in forum PC-DMIS for CMMs
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-08-2009, 04:50 PM
  4. Tp200 issue
    By Jeffery in forum PC-DMIS for CMMs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-09-2008, 04:39 PM
  5. SP600 for a TP200
    By spazus_maximus in forum PC-DMIS for CMMs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-11-2008, 09:07 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •