Ball Bar Calibration

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ball Bar Calibration

I'm trying for the first time to do a ball bar calibration. The CMM has just had it's yearly calibration & my boss wants us to start to do monthly ball bar calibration to find out when the CMM would need to be calibated next. So this would be the first run. The bad news I've never done one before The guy who calibrated themachine was nice enough to give me a sheet with what position I would place the ball bar in to do the calibration but that is about as far as I get. Can anyone explain how to go about this &/or if someone has a simple program I can take a look at? Thanks
    PC DMIS 4.2
    Iota 2204
    Sharpe 32 controller

Originally posted by ptedrum View Post
    I'm trying for the first time to do a ball bar calibration. The CMM has just had it's yearly calibration & my boss wants us to start to do monthly ball bar calibration to find out when the CMM would need to be calibated next. So this would be the first run. The bad news I've never done one before The guy who calibrated themachine was nice enough to give me a sheet with what position I would place the ball bar in to do the calibration but that is about as far as I get. Can anyone explain how to go about this &/or if someone has a simple program I can take a look at? Thanks
    PC DMIS 4.2
    Iota 2204
    Sharpe 32 controller
    Instead of trying to duplicate the ball bar cal create a "golden part" program. Retain a certain part and identify it as yor "golden part". It really doesn't matter what it is as long as it resembles what you typically check. Write a program to check a variety of features then run your "golden part" monthly and compare the results to previous months.

This will probably be less time consuming than the ball bar cal and closer reflect the daily use of your CMM.

HTH.
    Perry
    B&S Mistral
    3.207 Beta on XP

Older'n dirt

Comment