Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Inside groove diameter measuring skill

Hi Guru,

Any suggestion on how to measure inside groove diameter accurately with CMM?

I have a 90 degree knuckle to build a probe which can be used to measure it but i haven't never use it before. How to build the probe and calibrate it? Can we use the same calibration tool to calibrate it?

BTW, I haven't tried to use star probe yet. Any suggestion on how to use and calibrate it? Thanks

Have you done a search for this info? There's a lot to be found.
    sigpic
    I am fluent in three languages:
    English, Sarcasm & Profanity.

Comment

The easiest way is to use a disc, which can then be used to measure a groove at any given probe head angle, it's relatively simple to calibrate and easy to program. With a star probe you have to tell the CMM which tip (modal) you are using to make contact with.

I have rotated the probe head in the B axis with A fixed in two situations:
      i) With one stem of a star probe assembled, where the bore diamter is too small for a full star probe assembly to fit, where A was fixed at zero.
      ii) Where the bore diameter was large 6" and deep 7" and the probe head/column would have interfered with the top face, where A was fixed at 30 or thereabouts using an 80mm long ball stylus.

What is the dia of bore, groove depth (radially) groove width, depth of groove, form of groove (sq/rad) as these determine what methods/tools you can actually use.
      Mnfctr: Hexagon,
      Model: Global B Perf,
      Hardware: Control FBII,
      Software: PcDmis CAD 2010MR3
      PH10MQ, TP20, Leitz equipped

Comment

[QUOTE=johnP;334666]Have you done a search for this info? There's a lot to be found.[/QUOTE/]

Any suggestion for getting a better search on this topic? Thanks,

Comment

[QUOTE=homer.tan;334709]
          Originally posted by johnP View Post
          Have you done a search for this info? There's a lot to be found.[/QUOTE/]